A Prayer from Les Misérables

by Stephen Spence

I am excited about the Boxing Day release of the new mega-musical film version of Les Misérables. (Who isn’t!) So I thought I should read Victor Hugo’s orignal book in preparation for seeing the film. In it I came across this prayer/meditation by the saintly Monseigneur Myriel. (Being Catholic, the Monseigneur makes use of the deuterocanonical texts as well.)

I thought it was worth praying and sharing…

Oh, you who are!

Ecclesiastes calls you the All-powerful;

the Maccabees call you the Creator;

the Epistle to the Ephesians calls you liberty;

Baruch calls you Immensity;

the Psalms call you Wisdom and Truth;

John calls you Light;

the Books of Kings call you Lord;

Exodus calls you Providence;

Leviticus, Sanctity;

Esdras, Justice;

the creation calls you God;

man calls you Father;

but Solomon calls you Compassion, and that is the most beautiful of all your names.

 Amen.

